Fiery Symmo lends an apology

December 5, 2008

Australian all-rounder Andrew Symonds has expressed profound regret over his erratic behaviour and has promised to make sure that he never puts the reputation of his team in jeopardy.

Symonds apology had been accepted after he was discharged by the team constituted by Cricket Australia to probe into the incidence which involved the Aussie in a fight at a bar but as a preventive measure he was also given one last word of warning. The controversial cricketer also met CEO of cricket Australia; Mr. James Sutherland and Captain Ricky Ponting.

On the other hand, according to the reports in the Daily Telegraph, Andrew Symonds has turn down the advice of the physiotherapy team to give up his drinking habits which can be the main reason of the crisis that seems to have surrounded him.

BCCI in favour of different principal contracts

December 1, 2008

The Board of Cricket Control in India is seriously considering on having two separate kind of principal contracts for the Indian cricketers. In the previous year, the board declared that a player of A grade category would be paid a fee of fifty lakh rupees. Players belonging to B grade would be paid around thirty five lakh of rupees whereas the players of C grade category would be getting 20 Lakh rupees.

VVS Laxman along with spinner Harbhajan Singh, Baroda pacer Irfan Pathan and stroke player Virender Sehwag were relegated to grade B whereas on the other hand cricketers Yuvraj Singh and Captain MS Dhoni were placed in the grade A category.

The players who are selected to play in team India would involuntarily be placed in D grade category for the principal contracts. These players will be earning a consolidated sum of fifteen lakh rupees.

As per the new policy, it is considered that BCCI would organize players into two separate groups. The first group will be the primary Indian players whereas the second group would consist of next generation cricketers. There’s also a possibility that players, such as, Sreeshanth, Agarkar, Joginder Sharma, Manoj Tiwari and Akash Chopra might not get the contracts for this season. In their place, Rudra Pratap Singh, Rohit and Ishant Sharma, Suresh Raina, Munaf Patel, Yusuf Pathan and Irfan Pathan are expected to make the cut this time.

Posted by Dheeruyadav 2 comments Links to this post