History of T 20 Cricket

August 26, 2008

T20 cricket is the new structure of the cricket, which was initially introduced in United Kingdom for inter- county professional competition by Wales and England Cricket board in the year 2003. Both the teams have single innings and bat for maximum of 20 overs.

The twenty20 cricket game is completed in approximately two and the half hour with the every innings that lasts near around in 75 minutes, therefore bringing sport closer to span of time of the other famous team games such as football or hockey. This game was introduced for creating the lively structure of sport that would be very pretty to the spectators at ground and viewers on TV and also it is very successful.

The sport is spread around the cricketing fraternity around the world. Inaugural world cup, an international level event for T 20 cricket was played in the year 2007 in South Africa and India was the first T 20 cricket world champions.

History of T 20 cricket

While idea of the short format of sport was discussed in the year 1998 and year 2001, but 20-20 cricket was not officially introduced till year 2003 when ECB launched twenty20 cricket cup in the attempt to restrain the declining attendances to the matches of the County Cricket. First authorized Twenty20 cricket matches were played in the year 2003 on 13th June between the varieties of the English counties. Initial season of the Twenty-20 cricket in the country England was the considerable success with Surrey Lions defeating Warwick shire Bears with the 9 wickets remaining in the hands in final to take cup of the Twenty20 cricket.

In the year 2008, on 1st February the Twenty20 cricket match among Australia and India in the Cricket Ground of Melbourne was sold on the sales of the pre- tickets and 84,041 citizens attended cricket match involving Twenty20 cricket champions of the World against one day international World Champions.

The International Cricket Council appoints the worldwide referees and the umpires, which is sponsored by the Emirates Airline, which officiates at entire sanctioned 5 day matches, Twenty20 cricket matches and ODIs. The International Cricket Council operates the three panels of the Umpires: significantly Affiliates and the Associates Panel, Elite Panel and International Panel. International Cricket Council is worldwide governing body of the cricket. International Cricket Council was founded as Imperial Cricket Conference in the year 1909 with the representatives from the Australia, South Africa and England renaming it in the year 1965 as the International Cricket Conference and taking up its recent name in the year 1989.

Indian Premier League is recently the most popular and the largest 20-20 cricket league in the entire World. The Indian Premier league is also called as the DLF Indian premier League and also is abbreviated as IPL. It is the Twenty20 competition of the cricket which is formed by Board of the Control for the Cricket in India. Indian premier league first session commenced on the April 18, 2008 and concluded on June 1st 2008 with Rajasthan Royals defeating the Chennai Super kings in final at DY Patil stadium in Navi Mumbai.

Internationally, T 20 cricket is played since year 2005. Till date sixteen countries have played the T 20 cricket. The 16 countries are:
• Australia
• West Indies
• Bangladesh
• India
• Kenya
• Netherlands
• England
• Pakistan
• Sri Lanka
• New Zealand
• Canada
• Bermuda
• South Africa
• Zimbabwe
• Scotland’s
• Ireland


Post a Comment